Benjamin Scott Therrien was being held Wednesday at the Somerset County Jail on a charge of terrorizing after threatening to target his former employer, according to Pittsfield police Chief Vicente Morris.
Maine Crime
Police, crime and courts news from the Sun Journal.
Former Maine Med official sentenced to 5 years for fraud
Joshua Cory Frances, 46, pleaded guilty to stealing thousands of dollars from Maine Med and falsely claiming he was a Homeland Security officer to buy two boats through a federal agency.
Stockton Springs woman sentenced for lying during 3-year-old’s murder probe
Sherry Johnson, 59, was given a suspended sentence Tuesday after pleading guilty. Her daughter, Jessica Trefethen, was convicted and sentenced to 47 years for the death of Maddox Williams.
Panel that reviews police shootings urges greater use of ‘yellow flag’ law
Maine’s Deadly Force Review Panel has examined 20 shootings by law enforcement since its creation in 2019.
Massachusetts man convicted of sex crimes against girl seeks new trial
David P. Hunt Jr. is serving a 30-year sentence for sexually assaulting a 9-year-old girl in Auburn
Poland man charged with manslaughter admits bail violation
Joshua A. Doughty had two pending charges of operating under the influence when he was involved in a fatal crash in Turner last summer.
Carrabassett Valley police investigating attempted robbery
Driver offered a ride to a man who threatened to knife him and asked for money.
Oxford County arrest log: Feb. 6, 2023
• Elijah W. Cowper, 21, of 318 Waldo St., Rumford, on charges of assault, refusing to submit to arrest or detention and violation of condition of release, 1:57 a.m. Sunday, Feb. 5, on Lincoln Avenue in Rumford, by Rumford Police Department. • Brandon M. Edwards, 36, of 417 Harris Hill Road, Poland, on charges of […]
Former jail guard won’t serve prison time for 2019 fatal crash
Kenneth Morang, 65, received a 6-year suspended sentence after being convicted of manslaughter in the 2019 death of Raelynn Bell.
Maine considers steeper fines to deter distracted driving
Since Maine’s hands-free driving law took effect in 2019, more than 3,000 drivers have received tickets each year. A legislative bill would increase penalties from $85 to $500 for a first offense and from $325 to $1,000 for a second offense.